Read: Black City by Elizabeth Richards

Blurb:

A dark and tender post-apocalyptic love story set in the aftermath of a bloody war.

In a city where humans and Darklings are now separated by a high wall and tensions between the two races still simmer after a terrible war, sixteen-year-olds Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, meet and do the unthinkable—they fall in love. Bonded by a mysterious connection that causes Ash’s long-dormant heart to beat, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.

When Ash and Natalie then find themselves at the center of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to pull the humans and Darklings back into war, they must make hard choices that could result in both their deaths.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Release Date: 13th November 2012

Where to Buy: Amazon | B&N | TBD

Review:

I can’t gather my thoughts for this book… Black City is a Dystopian AND Paranormal book rolled into one. I don’t know why but the love story reminds me of Romeo and Juliet. They have something in common. Maybe because Natalie Buchanan is the Emissary’s daughter… And well, Ash Fisher is a Twin-blood. A half-Darkling and half-human. You know, forbidden love and all that shenanigans.

I must say that the world building is great. Although I first became confused but as you read on, the questions that pops into your head while reading were answered one by one.

BUT it’s a bit sad cause I don’t really feel the connection between the main characters. I mean, they are great, uh, I feel the connection but not that strong like what I feel in the past for the other books I have read. Eh, maybe I’m still in Fifty Shades so that’s why. Characters in there were too strong. :O

Anyway, I almost drop my tablet earlier when I read the part about that heart thingy. I had my theory about that and damn, I am so right. I really don’t like it when suddenly there’s another person thrown into the love story. >:( Love Triangle sucks sometimes.

Ah, Darklings are vampires, essentially. But there’s different types. There’s the cat type too. And the one with the wings. :O Like an Angel. Well, I did enjoy reading this book. So yeah, I really liked it.

By the way, I freakin’ love the cover! It’s pretty!!! And awesome. :)

Leave a Reply

