Read: Rock Chick #1 by Kristen Ashley

BLURB:

Indy Savage, cop’s daughter, rock chick and used bookstore owner, has been in love with Lee Nightingale, once bad boy, now the man behind Nightingale Investigations, since she was five years old. No matter what ingenious schemes Indy used to capture his attention, Lee never showed an interest and Indy finally gave up. Now Indy’s employee, Rosie, has lost a bag of diamonds and bad guys are shooting at him. When Indy gets involved, Lee is forced to help. Complicating matters, Lee has decided he’s interested, Indy’s decided she’s not. But she can’t seem to keep Lee out of her life when she’s repeatedly stun gunned, kidnapped and there are car bombs exploding (not to mention she’s finding dead bodies).

Indy’s best bet is to solve the mystery of the diamonds before Lee. Lee’s challenge is to keep Indy alive and, at the same time, win back her heart.

Ratings: 5/5 stars

Release Date: 4th March 2011

Where to Buy: Amazon | B&NKobo

Review:

Whoa. Okay. First, Rock Chick was recommended to me by Dan, I said I’ll read it some time later… Then last Sunday, I think, Glam asked me to join their (Dan and her) re-read of Mystery Man by Kristen Ashley. I said yes. BUT all of them was like, “Read Rock Chick first. You’ll like it better.” so again, I said OKAY. Then started to read Rock Chick. I honestly thought that I’ll shun away from all Kristen Ashley’s books. Because I was bored by Sweet Dreams (Dan said it was good, so I tried it for her but I ended up not finishing it) and so I was wary to read other Kristen Ashley books.

Another thing, KA’s books are incredibly LONG. And it’s not that I hate long books, it’s just I worry about whether I will like it to keep reading it. I had this habit or I should say rule that if I start a book, I would finish a book no matter what. I got three books that I stopped reading because they either bored me to death or I didn’t really understand what’s happening. PLUS, long books really takes me a lot LONGER TO READ. I’m a slow reader, so now I got a headache and my eyes are hurting. Still is even after a good night sleep of almost 10 hours.

my initial internal state before starting Rock Chick.

Yes, me putting on my big girl panties.

Okay, enough side-talk. :P Onto the review…

I was so surprise that I really liked this book. Yes, the girls are right about it. I absolutely love it. I was like grinning the whole time. Even to the first few chapters. Even when I got this stupid headache, it was WORTH IT.

I was like this the whole time.

Well… Does that makes everything clear? ;) So Indy Savage, is a daughter of a Cop. She got an extended family, her father, Tom Savage‘s best friend with Malcolm Nightingale, her mom’s best friend with Kitty Sue Nightingale, and Indy’s best friends with Ally Nightingale, the daughter of Malcolm and Kitty Sue. And Malcolm is also a cop, Hank, the eldest of the three children of Malcolm and Kitty is also a cop. Liam, however is a different story. He’s not a cop. Just a Private Investigator that is mysterious and got lots of underworld assets and what-not.

I love Indy. I think she’s on her 30s? But she act like she’s still on her teens. She got qualities that I have. I mean, it’s just that she got attitude, I got one too. And I do that “nanny nanny foo foo” thing too! LOL. And I do it while stick out my tongue. :D She got a sharp tongue, I sometimes got it too. Just sometimes… Cause the whole time, I am nice and would say YES to almost every thing my friends say. BUT really, Indy got kidnapped way too much. Once is enough, Twice is too much, and I don’t know what’s for the third. :P

Liam Nightingale... Lee… HE made me smirk that smirk and smile The Smile. Lee is hot. Well, he’s the badass of all the badasses. And so he’s the SHIT, man. BUT, there’s always the but here… I don’t like the excuse he gave Indy for not being together when Indy was throwing herself to him every single time back then. Pfft. That’s not an excuse! >:( In any case, I still like him though. He’s sweet. BUT controlling, good thing is Indy doesn’t like to  be controlled. Lee IS overprotective. Well I would too in everyone I love.

I like the Denver Police Department. They took care of their own. Indy was considered one of their own. And they are all protective of her. Especially since her father is one of the cops. But sadly, I didn’t see Tom or Malcolm AS A COP IN ACTION. Did they already retired? I didn’t think it was mentioned. I love all the characters. Well, except the bad guys. I love all the supporting characters.

SO there you go! This is my FIRST KA book that I really finished and I LOVED it. :) 

2 thoughts on “Read: Rock Chick #1 by Kristen Ashley

    • YES. You take it ALL hun. :P I don’t mind. And Rock Chick #2 will just have to wait for me. I might read it before the year ends. :)

Leave a Reply

