BOTW: City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte {14th December 2012}

BLURB:

Cosmically fast-paced and wildly imaginative, this debut novel is a perfect potion of magic and suspense.

  Once a city of enormous wealth and culture, Prague was home to emperors, alchemists, astronomers, and, as it’s whispered, hell portals. When music student Sarah Weston lands a summer job at Prague Castle cataloging Beethoven’s manuscripts, she has no idea how dangerous her life is about to become. Prague is a threshold, Sarah is warned, and it is steeped in blood.
Soon after Sarah arrives, strange things begin to happen. She learns that her mentor, who was working at the castle, may not have committed suicide after all. Could his cryptic notes be warnings? As Sarah parses his clues about Beethoven’s “Immortal Beloved,” she manages to get arrested, to have tantric sex in a public fountain, and to discover a time-warping drug. She also catches the attention of a four-hundred-year-old dwarf, the handsome Prince Max, and a powerful U.S. senator with secrets she will do anything to hide.
City of Dark Magic could be called a rom-com paranormal suspense novel—or it could simply be called one of the most entertaining novels of the year.

Ratings: DNF (Did Not Finish)

Release Date: 27th November 2012

Where to Buy: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Kobo

Review:

First of all, I was the one who nagged or recommend it to everyone. It is my BOTW. I was looking for people who might want to read it WITH me so I decided to make it the BOTW. Sooooo… I am the one who didn’t finish it. LOL. Half of my friends finished the book and didn’t like it… I really thought I’m gonna like it because the concept is interesting. BUT no, the writing… It bored me to the point I don’t understand it anymore and didn’t bother to read all of it.

See. My fear is really spot on for this book. I know that this was MY pick and I should finish it but why should I waste my time to reading something that is not really making me want to finish it? The only thing that is keeping me from reading it is because I was the one who choose this and made everyone read it. But really, that’s not enough reason to finish a book. They (GR friends) might bully me for not finishing it, but really, I don’t give a damn anymore. I’m done with this book. And for those people who I asked to read this, you don’t have to finish it. And sorry.

It’s true by the way, they did bully me. LOL. Ah, but that’s just how they are, that’s how they show their affections for me. :D Anyway, I got this friend who likes it and rated it 4-stars. :)

Leave a Reply

